

## JEFFERSON COUNTY, TENNESSEE REPUBLICAN PARTY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

A RESOLUTION RECOMMENDING THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE ENACT THE FAMILY RIGHT TO EDUCATIONAL EMANCIPATION ACT SB 494 / HB 552 AND HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION HJR 92

**WHEREAS**, the Jefferson County Republican Party recognizes the fundamental right of parents to direct the education, upbringing, and care of their children; and

WHEREAS, the Jefferson County Republican Party further acknowledges that parents have the primary role in determining the educational path for their children, including the choice to educate their children at home without interference or undue regulation from the State.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the Executive Committee of the Jefferson County, Tennessee Republican Executive Committee Meeting on this 21st day of February 2025, as follows:

**SECTION 1:** That the General Assembly of the State of Tennessee is urged to enact proposed legislation HB552 by Representative Todd Warner / SB 494 by Senator Janice Bowling otherwise known and cited as the **Family Right to Educational Emancipation (FREE) Act**.

**SECTION 2:** That the General Assembly of the State of Tennessee is further urged to advance **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION HJR 92** by Jody Barrett to amend the Constitution of the State of Tennessee, recognizing and codifying that a parent has the inherent and fundamental right to direct the upbringing of the parent's child, including, but not limited to, the right to direct the education of the parent's child.

**SECTION 3**: That upon approval and signing of this resolution, a copy be transmitted to the State Representatives and State Senator that represent Jefferson County, Tennessee, sponsors of the legislative proposals identified herein, republican organizations, and citizens groups in Tennessee.

**Electronically Signed:** Austin Brooks, Chairman; Lavigne Kirkpatrick, First Vice Chair; David Oatney, Second Vice Chair; Marcus Reed, Senior Chair; Janice Carey, Secretary; Joshua Cameron, Treasurer; Doug Ibbetson, Vice Treasurer; David Seal, Immediate Past Chair