Bill That Would Restrict TN Textbook Promotion Of LGBTQ+ Lifestyles In Subcommittee

Photo Credit: Facebook & Pixabay

The Tennessee Conservative [By Paula Gomes] –

A controversial bill that was filed for introduction almost a year ago will be heard by members of the Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee this morning, February 2nd, at 11:00am CST.

House Bill 0800 (HB0800) sponsored by Representative Bruce Griffey (R-Paris-District 75) and filed for introduction on February 9th, 2021, and companion Senate Bill 1216 (SB1216) sponsored by Senator Frank Niceley (R-Strawberry Plains-District 8) would restrict the promotion of certain lifestyles in school textbooks used in Tennessee.

As introduced, the bill prohibits the state textbook and instructional materials quality commission from recommending or listing, the state board of education from approving for local adoption or from granting a waiver for, and LEAs and public charter schools from adopting or using textbooks and instructional materials or supplemental instructional materials that promote, normalize, support, or address lesbian, gay, bi-sexual, or transgender issues or lifestyles. – Amends TCA Title 49.

*** Click Here to Support Conservative Journalism in Tennessee. We can’t cover stories like this without your support!***

Present law prohibits the textbook and instructional materials quality commission from approving textbook or instructional materials for adoption by LEAs unless the textbook or instructional materials conform to certain standards and, if the textbook or instructional materials are being considered for adoption as a textbook or instructional materials for education of students in general studies and specifically in United States history and this nation’s republican form of government, comply with and reflect the values expressed in present law. 

Bobbie Partray of Tennessee Eagle Forum said yesterday, “Opponents of this legislation are flooding the members of the General Assembly with emails urging them to vote against [this bill.]”

NewTruth

Below is the contact information for the Republican members of the Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee:

Rep. Gary Hicks (chair): rep.gary.hicks@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-7480

Rep. Charlie Baum: rep.charlie.baum@capitol.tn.gov  – (615) 741-6849

Rep. Ron Gant: rep.ron.gant@capitol.tn.gov  – (615) 741-6890

Rep. David Hawk: rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov  – (615) 741-7482

Rep. Patsy Hazlewood: rep.patsy.hazlewood@capitol.tn.gov  – (615) 741-2746

Rep. Susan Lynn: rep.susan.lynn@capitol.tn.gov  – (615) 741-7462

Rep. Brandon Ogles: rep.brandon.ogles@capitol.tn.gov  – (615) 741-6808   

Rep. Chris Todd: rep.chris.todd@capitol.tn.gov  – (615) 741-7475 

Rep. Sam Whitson: rep.sam.whitson@capitol.tn.gov  – (615) 741-1864

Rep. Ryan Williams: rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov  – (615) 741-1875

About the Author: Paula Gomes is a Tennessee resident and reporter for The Tennessee Conservative. You can reach Paula at paula@tennesseeconservativenews.com.

One thought on “Bill That Would Restrict TN Textbook Promotion Of LGBTQ+ Lifestyles In Subcommittee

  • February 2, 2022 at 11:12 pm
    Permalink

    Good law. WE have enough garbage in text books as it is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.