Hamilton County And Southeast Tennessee Primary Election Results

Image Credit: hamiltoncountytn.gov

The Tennessee Conservative [By Jason Vaughn] –

With a narrow victory, Chattanooga businessman Weston Wamp wins the Republican primary and snags the Republican nomination for Hamilton County mayor. 

The primary election turned out to be one of the closest ever in Hamilton County, with Wamp taking only 14,425 votes to win with 35%. Hamilton County Commission Chairwoman Sabrina Smedley tied with 35% but only had 14,104 votes, giving Wamp the win by a slim margin of 321 votes. Local businessman Matt Hullander earned 30% with 12,170 votes.

If Wamp wins the election, he will become the youngest mayor Hamilton County has ever had, defeating an even younger candidate, 25-year-old Democrat Matt Adams.

*** Click Here to Support Conservative Journalism in Tennessee. We can’t cover stories like this without your support!***

Several primaries were decided for seats on the Hamilton County Commission as well, also with pretty tight races. 

• District 1: Gene-o Shipley took 42% of the vote, beating out incumbent Randy Fairbanks (39%) and Stacy Swallows (19%).

• District 8: East Ridge Vice Mayor Mike Chauncey secured 53% of the vote to beat Hamilton County School Board chairman Tucker McClendon who had 47%.

• District 10:  Walmart Regional Manager Jeffrey Eversole received 52% of the vote, beating Dean Moorhouse.


With no Democrat on the ticket for District 9 of the Hamilton County School Board, Gary Kuehn takes the seat in the first ever partisan election. Other school board seats will be decided in the August general election, with the following Republicans claiming the primary victory:

• District 3: Joe Smith was unopposed in the Republican primary.

• District 5: Charles Paty was unopposed in the Republican primary.

• District 6: Jon Baker wins with 40% of the vote over Cindy Fain’s 38% and Delores Gross-Vinson’s 23%.

• District 8: Larry Grohn, former Chattanooga City Councilman, was unopposed in the primary.

• District 10: Faye Robinson took 50% of the vote to win against Patrick Lee (32%) and Roddey Coe (18%).

• District 11: Virginia Ann Manson was unopposed in the primary.

Beating eight year incumbent Neal Pinkston, Coty Wamp – sister of mayoral candidate Weston Wamp – took 71% of the vote in the Republican primary for Hamilton County District Attorney. Pinkston earned 29%.

The primary also netted Hamilton County voters with two new judges, with both Republicans being unopposed in their respective general elections.

Former prosecutor and public defender Boyd Patterson takes the seat for Criminal Court, Division 3, and Mike Dumitri was elected for Circuit Court, Division 2.

For the primary election results from Bledsoe, Bradley, Grundy, Marion, McMinn, Meigs, Polk, Rhea, and Sequatchie Counties, click HERE.

About the Author: Jason Vaughn, Media Coordinator for The Tennessee Conservative  ~ Jason previously worked for a legacy publishing company based in Crossville, TN in a variety of roles through his career.  Most recently, he served as Deputy Director for their flagship publication. Prior, he was a freelance journalist writing articles that appeared in the Herald Citizen, the Crossville Chronicle and The Oracle among others.  He graduated from Tennessee Technological University with a Bachelor’s in English-Journalism, with minors in Broadcast Journalism and History.  Contact Jason at news@TennesseeConservativeNews.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *