TN Senate Judiciary Committee To Hear Bill Prohibiting Government Funds For Out-of-State Abortions

Image Credit: capitol.tn.gov

The Tennessee Conservative [By Jason Vaughn] –

The State Senate Judiciary Committee is scheduled to consider a bill that would prohibit local governments from providing funding to employees to assist them in obtaining abortions. The bill is on the Committee’s calendar for February 28th.

Senate Bill 0600 (SB0600) is sponsored by State Senator Joey Hensley (R-Hohenwald-District 28). If passed, the bill would make it against the law for any local government to give money to help “a person in obtaining an abortion.”

New Creations Construction
CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO!

Current state law, which went into effect last year after being passed in 2019, already makes all abortions illegal within Tennessee. It does not, however, specifically prohibit giving assistance to a person who is attempting to get an abortion outside of the state.

The bill’s summary states, “As introduced, prohibits governments from expending funds for the purposes of assisting a person in obtaining an abortion.” – Amends TCA Title 5; Title 6; Title 7 and Title 8.

The state’s total abortion ban is proving to be a topic of conversation in this legislative session, with some Republicans remaining firmly in support of the law as currently written while others have noted that they would like to consider some exceptions to the law.

The House Companion Bill (HB0090) is sponsored by Representative Debra Moody (R-Covington-District 81). It has been assigned to the House Cities and Counties Subcommittee but has not yet been placed on the calendar.

The law would take effect immediately upon being passed.

CLICK HERE TO LISTEN IN NOW!

Anyone wishing to support Senate Bill 0600 is encouraged to contact Senate Judiciary Committee members using the contact information below prior to that February 28 meeting:

Todd Gardenhire (Chair) (R)- sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6682

Dawn White (Vice-Chair) (R)- sen.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6853

Paul Rose (2nd Vice-Chair) (R) – sen.paul.rose@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1967

Sara Kyle (D) – sen.sara.kyle@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4167

London Lamar (D) – sen.london.lamar@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2509

Jon Lundberg (R)- sen.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-5761

Kerry Roberts (R) – sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4499

John Stevens (R)- sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4576

Brent Taylor (R) – sen.brent.taylor@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-3036

About the Author: Jason Vaughn, Media Coordinator for The Tennessee Conservative  ~ Jason previously worked for a legacy publishing company based in Crossville, TN in a variety of roles through his career.  Most recently, he served as Deputy Director for their flagship publication. Prior, he was a freelance journalist writing articles that appeared in the Herald Citizen, the Crossville Chronicle and The Oracle among others.  He graduated from Tennessee Technological University with a Bachelor’s in English-Journalism, with minors in Broadcast Journalism and History.  Contact Jason at news@TennesseeConservativeNews.com

One thought on “TN Senate Judiciary Committee To Hear Bill Prohibiting Government Funds For Out-of-State Abortions

  • February 27, 2023 at 11:45 pm
    Permalink

    If a women wants to commit murder of her child let it be on her own dime and should face jail time when she comes back into the state.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *