Bill To Protect Children From Gender Reassignment Added To Committee Calendars

Image credit: ADragan/Shutterstock

The Tennessee Conservative [By Jason Vaughn] –

A bill that would ban gender transitions for minors has been placed on calendars for both the Senate Judiciary Committee and the House Health Committee.

Senate Bill 0001 (SB0001) is sponsored by Senator Jack Johnson (R-Franklin-District 27). The corresponding House Bill 0001 (HB0001) is sponsored by Representative William Lamberth (R-Portland-District 44).

Also known as the “Protecting Children from Gender Mutilation Act,” the bill would prohibit any medical treatment that “alters a child’s hormone balance” and procedures “that remove their organs to enable the minor to identify as a gender different from their biological sex.”

The intention of the bill is to protect children from harmful physiological and psychological effects of “gender affirming care” and set up legal and monetary consequences for parents and healthcare providers who do not provide the appropriate protection for these children.

SB0001 is set to be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on February 7th. The House Health Committee will consider the bill on February 8th.

If you are in favor of this bill and would like to express your support, please contact the members of the committees as listed below prior to the meeting dates.

Senate Judiciary Committee Members

Todd Gardenhire (Chair) (R)- sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6682

Dawn White (Vice-Chair) (R)- sen.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6853

Paul Rose (2nd Vice-Chair) (R) – sen.paul.rose@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1967

Sara Kyle (D) – sen.sara.kyle@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4167

London Lamar (D) – sen.london.lamar@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2509

Jon Lundberg (R)- sen.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-5761

Kerry Roberts (R) – sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4499

John Stevens (R)- sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4576

Brent Taylor (R) – sen.brent.taylor@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-3036

House Health Committee Members

Bryan Terry (Chair) (R) – rep.bryan.terry@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2180

Tom Leatherwood (Vice-Chair) (R) – rep.tom.leatherwood@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-7084

Clark Boyd (R) – rep.clark.boyd@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-7086

Michele Carringer (R) – rep.michele.carringer@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1721

John Ray Clemmons (D) – rep.john.ray.clemmons@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4410

Jeremy Faison (R) – rep.jeremy.faison@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6871

Andrew Farmer (R) – rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4419

John Gillespie (R) – rep.john.gillespie@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-8201

Yusuf Hakeem (D) – rep.yusuf.hakeem@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2702

David B. Hawk (R) – rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-7482

Esther Helton-Haynes (R) – rep.esther.helton@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1934

Caleb Hemmer (D) – rep.caleb.hemmer@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2035

Gary Hicks (R) – rep.gary.hicks@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-7480

Tim Hicks (R) – rep.tim.hicks@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1717

Darren Jernigan (D) – rep.darren.jernigan@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6959

Sabi “Doc” Kumar (R) – rep.sabi.kumar@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2860

Brock Martin (R) – rep.brock.martin@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-7478

Bo Mitchell (D) – rep.bo.mitchell@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4317

Iris Rudder (R) – rep.iris.rudder@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-8695

Paul Sherrell (R) – rep.paul.sherrell@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1963

Ron Travis (R) – rep.ron.travis@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1450

Kevin Vaughan (R) – rep.kevin.vaughan@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1866

Sam Whitson (R) – rep.sam.whitson@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1864

Ryan Williams (R) – rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1875

About the Author: Jason Vaughn, Media Coordinator for The Tennessee Conservative  ~ Jason previously worked for a legacy publishing company based in Crossville, TN in a variety of roles through his career.  Most recently, he served as Deputy Director for their flagship publication. Prior, he was a freelance journalist writing articles that appeared in the Herald Citizen, the Crossville Chronicle and The Oracle among others.  He graduated from Tennessee Technological University with a Bachelor’s in English-Journalism, with minors in Broadcast Journalism and History.  Contact Jason at news@TennesseeConservativeNews.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *