Tennessee Organization That Represents Lee Co. Opposes Business Restrictions

Photo Credit: Nashville International Airport / Facebook

The Tennessee Conservative [By Paula Gomes] –

Last week as the Tennessee legislature closed one special session and started readying itself for another, The Tennessee Business Roundtable announced that it opposes all efforts to either impose or restrict company policies regarding COVID-19. 

The organization represents many heads of major state corporations such as Blue Cross Blue Shield, Volkswagen and Lee Co., the HVAC company run by Bill Lee before he was elected to governor. 

Governor Bill Lee has ignored many calls over the last months for a special session related to COVID-19 and mandates, choosing instead to sign Executive Order 84, giving parents the ability to opt their child out of mask mandates.

On a Facebook post, Tennesseans discussed the possibility that Governor Lee was placing priority as a business owner over the people he swore to serve in not calling a special session.

Chattanooga resident Ashleigh Horner said, “So basically Bill Lee is nothing more than a giant coward who is too scared to stand up for the folks who voted for him because he doesn’t want to stand up to big business. I have a feeling folks will remember this come voting time.”

Jake Crabtree said, “We need to be flooding his office with calls. I am a conservative capitalist and support his views as a business owner but when elected he chose above all to represent us and what’s best for our state, not his business.”

*** Click Here to Support Conservative Journalism in Tennessee. We can’t bring cover stories like this without your support!***

Some of the topics up for discussion at the special session will include:

  • Prohibiting public employers from requiring COVID-19 vaccines.
  • Placing liability on private employers who require COVID-19 vaccines in the event of adverse reactions.
  • Prohibiting school boards and public schools from mandating masks and providing reasonable accommodations for those students requesting additional safety measures.

Rep. Susan Lynn (R – District 57) said that she is “confident that we will pass legislation that will help Tennesseans fight the mandates… I am prepared to do what is necessary to preserve this great state from any dictatorial legislation that comes from the Democratic Party.”

Despite Governor Lee’s lack of support for the upcoming special session, as of last night there are 78 House Bills for consideration and 6 Senate Bills as well as resolutions.

NewTruth

Find your State Representative HERE.

Find your State Senator HERE.

Senate Health Committee Members to Contact:

Rusty Crowe – sen.rusty.crowe@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2468

Ferrell Haile – sen.ferrell.haile@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1999

Joey Hensley – sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-3100

Ed Jackson – sen.ed.jackson@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1810

Becky Massey – sen.becky.massey@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1648

Shane Reeves – sen.shane.reeves@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1066

Art Swann – sen.art.swann@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-0981

Bo Watson – sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-3227

House Health Committee Members to Contact:

Rebecca Alexander – rep.rebecca.alexander@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2251

Clark Boyd – rep.clark.boyd@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-7086

David Byrd – rep.david.byrd@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2190

Ron Gant – rep.ron.gant@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6890

Mark Hall – rep.mark.hall@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1350

Esther Helton – rep.esther.helton@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1934

Tim Hicks – rep.tim.hicks@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1717

Doc Kumar – rep.sabi.kumar@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2860

Tom Leatherwood – rep.tom.leatherwood@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-7084

Pat Marsh – rep.pat.marsh@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6824

Bob Ramsey – rep.bob.ramsey@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-3560

Robin Smith – rep.robin.smith@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2548

Bryan Terry – rep.bryan.terry@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2180

Kevin Vaughan – rep.kevin.vaughan@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1866

Sam Whitson – rep.sam.whitson@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1864

Ryan Williams – rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1875

Rush

About the Author: Paula Gomes is a Tennessee resident and contributor to The Tennessee Conservative. You can reach Paula at paula@tennesseeconservativenews.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *