TN Department Of Health Doctrine Allows Vaccinations, Medical Treatments Of Minors Without Parental Consent (Updated)

Update May 21, 2021 : Senator Shane Reeves (R) issued this statement: “I believe that vaccines save lives and are in the best interest of public health; however, I do support a parent’s right to choose not to vaccinate their child based upon medical contraindications and/or religious objections”

Photo Credit: 123rf.com

Published May 19, 2021

The Tennessee Conservative Staff –

According to a document issued from the Tennessee Department of Health, there are circumstances where 7–14-year-old children can receive a vaccine with no parental consent. 

The Mature Minor Doctrine also states that children 14 years of age and older may receive a vaccine, or receive treatment, by a physician without parental consent unless the physician believes the minor is not “sufficiently mature to make his or her own health care decisions.” 

Tennessee Capitol Building in Nashville

Senator Joey Hensley (R) Hohenwald states, “I don’t think that minors should be able to get the vaccine without parental consent and the Department of Health should not be sending out information that says that they can”. 

The Tennessee Department of Health issued this statement to The Tennessee Conservative: 

“The mature minor doctrine establishes when it is appropriate for the minor to receive a vaccination at their request, without expressed parental permission.  There are some exceptions to this rule as detailed in statute. The mature minor doctrine has been present in Tennessee since the 1980’s. Tennessee is like many states in this regard, including several Southeastern states such as Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, and South Carolina.” 

*** Click Here to Support Conservative Journalism in Tennessee. We can’t cover News Stories such as this without your support!***

Representative Robin Smith (R) Hixson states, “The citation of case law appears to provide cover to circumvent parental consent, which would be unacceptable.  But I do know that rules must be promulgated relative to new vaccines being administered through schools.” 

Smith told us she reached out to Tennessee Health Department Commissioner Lisa Piercey twice and received this response. Click Here.

Smith’s letter to Piercey reads as follows: 

Dr. Piercey, 
 
Today, I have received two separate emails inquiring about this memo issued by the Medical Director of Vaccines of the Dept of Health. 
 
I read this as the two Tennesseans who forwarded to me with the request for a response on direction:  the intent appears to circumvent parental consent. 
 
Please provide a response and the direction of this program and its leadership. 
Thank you. Robin 
 
Robin T. Smith, 
TNHD26 

Michelle Fiscus, Medical Director of the Tennessee Vaccine-Preventable Diseases and Immunization Program, has recently been circulating a reminder of the “Mature Minor” doctrine to “COVID-19 Vaccinating Partners.” 

Her letter to the vaccinating partners states, “Given the May 12, 2021 vote by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices to recommend the use of Pfizer’s COVID-19 vaccine in children ages 12 through 15 years of age, I thought it would be helpful to share Tennessee’s ‘mature minor’ doctrine with our vaccinating partners.” 

Gary Humble of Tennessee Stands states, “We’ve been talking a lot about how the school system is indoctrinating our children, teaching them racist ideology, forcing them to mask to earn an education, but THIS one takes the cake.” 

Knoxville, TN mother Rebekah Edwards Reeves states, “God help us. I thought the mask war was hard. That was only practice. Here comes the real fight. There is no way I stand by and take this.” 

Katie Hyde says, “Reports of side effects and yet they keep pushing it… unelected health officials know more than they are saying along with school boards..this is control.” 

If you wish to reach out to pertinent parties regarding this or any other topic, please refer to the list below for contact information. 

Governor Bill Lee – 615-741-2001 

Dept of Health Commissioner, Dr. Michelle Fiscus – michelle.fiscus@tn.gov – 615-261-5437 

Speaker of House Cameron Sexton – speaker.cameron.sexton@capitol.tn.gov – 615-741-2343 

Speaker of the Senate Randy McNally – lt.gov.randy.mcnally@capitol.tn.gov – 615-741-6806 

Tennessee House of Representatives Health Committee 

Bryan Terry – rep.bryan.terry@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2180 

Tom Leatherwood -rep.tom.leatherwood@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-7084 

Rebecca Alexander – rep.rebecca.alexander@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2251 

Clark Boyd – rep.clark.boyd@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-7086 

David Byrd – rep.david.byrd@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2190 

Ron M. Gant – rep.ron.gant@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6890 

Mark Hall – rep.mark.hall@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1350 

Esther Helton – rep.esther.helton@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1934 

Tim Hicks – rep.tim.hicks@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1717 

Sabi ‘Doc’ Kumar – rep.sabi.kumar@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2860 

Pat Marsh – rep.pat.marsh@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6824 

Bob Ramsey – rep.bob.ramsey@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-3560 

Paul Sherrell – rep.paul.sherrell@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1963 

Robin Smith – rep.robin.smith@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2548 

Kevin Vaughan – rep.kevin.vaughan@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1866 

Sam Whitson – rep.sam.whitson@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1864 

Ryan Williams – rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1875 

Tennessee Senate Health & Welfare Committee 

Rusty Crowe – sen.rusty.crowe@capitol.tn.gov – 615-741-2468   

Ferrell Haile – sen.ferrell.haile@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1999 

Shane Reeves – sen.shane.reeves@capitol.tn.gov – (615)-741-1066 

Joey Hensley – sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-3100 

Ed Jackson – sen.ed.jackson@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1810 

Becky Massey – sen.becky.massey@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-1648 

Art Swann – sen.art.swann@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-0981 

Bo Watson – sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-3227 

Keep Tennessee Conservative - The Tennessee Conservative -Donate

3 thoughts on “TN Department Of Health Doctrine Allows Vaccinations, Medical Treatments Of Minors Without Parental Consent (Updated)

  • May 20, 2021 at 2:35 pm
    Permalink

    I have recently just moved to Tennessee from Massachusetts. I am a strong conservative and Massachusetts is ever increasingly becoming in my opinion a more socialist state. I moved from Massachusetts for many reasons and one of the big ones is how doctors and medical professionals public School educators and the like are attempting to circumvent the parents and infiltrate homes. The parent is responsible for their child until the child reaches the age of adulthood which from my understanding across this country is 18. Until then anything regarding the child will be the decision of the parent. No medical professional public School official or anyone else has any right to know what goes on in an individual’s home and or make a decisions for any underage child within that home unless there is evidence of physical abuse. Opinions by the professionals would more than likely be welcome but that’s as far as it should go.

    Reply
  • May 24, 2021 at 5:24 pm
    Permalink

    I agree with the lady from Massachusetts. It’s a shame she’s encountering the same thing here in Tennessee. Enough is enough! Stop the control.

    Reply
  • May 24, 2021 at 7:36 pm
    Permalink

    I agree with both statements above. Stop treating us like idiots. You were not elected to make all our decisions. You were elected to look out for our best interest According to the Bill of Tights and our Constitution, not take over personal lives. What is wrong with you people? You need to step down if you can not follow the laws of this country.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *