Trump Wins Hamilton County And Tennessee / Police Review Committee Ordinance Passes

HAMILTON COUNTY, Tenn. – Trump is victorious in Hamilton County, but by an unexpectedly narrow margin of 53.88% of the votes. 

He received 91,991 votes while Biden received 75,360 or 44.14%.

At the time of this article, with 97% of precincts reporting, the Associated Press has called that Donald Trump won Tennessee with 1,849,467 votes or 60.73%.  Joe Biden follows with a wide gap of 1,139,289 votes or 37.41%.

Nationwide, however, the Associated Press reports Trump is trailing Biden with 213 Electoral votes to Biden’s 238.  270 Electoral votes are required to win the presidency. 

For the United States Senate, Republican Bill Hagerty had the most votes with 1,837,940 statewide or 62.25%.  Hagerty also received the most votes in Hamilton County.  He will replace Lamar Alexander. 

Democrat Marquita Bradshaw was in second place with 1,036,661 votes or 35.11%. 

District 10 Republican State Senator, Todd Gardenhire, kept his seat with 45,003 votes or 53.18%.  He was challenged by Democrat Glenn Scruggs who received 36,913 votes or 46.82%. 

For the Tennessee House of Representatives District 26, Republican Robin T. Smith won with 24,368 votes or 64.73%.  Her Democrat opponent, Joan Farrell, trailed with 13,279 votes or 35.27%. 

District 30 House was won by Republican Esther Helton with 19,115 votes or 61.67%, trailed by Democrat Joseph Udeaja with 11,883 votes or 38.33%. 

Also, for the Tennessee House, Patsy Hazlewood, Yusuf Hakeem and Mike Carter each ran uncontested with 100% of the votes. 

On the ballot in Chattanooga, there was also a referendum that makes the Police Advisory and Review Committee (PARC) in Chattanooga permanent. 

This Ordinance passed with 50,372 for the amendment and 14,944 against. 

This Ordinance bans future City Councils the right to disband the Police Advisory and Review Committee.   

The committee can subpoena witnesses, review investigations, ask for further investigations, and ask for CPD policy changes.  

Now that the PARC in Chattanooga is permanent, any changes to the committee’s standing or power structure will have to go back on the ballot for voters to decide. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.